Skip to main content

National Historic Sites

@ New Georgia Encyclopedia

Blythe, Robert W


Encyclopedia article about national historic sites in Georgia. Eight historic sites managed by the National Park Service represent Georgia's history from the Native American Mississippian Period (A.D. 800-1100) through the twentieth century: Ocmulgee National Monument, Fort Frederica, Fort Pulaski, Chickamauga Battlefield, Kennesaw Mountain, Andersonville, Jimmy Carter National Historic Site, and Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site. Two other sites, established largely for natural resource protection--the Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area and the Cumberland Island National Seashore--also contain significant historic resources.
Cite as: "National Historic Sites," New Georgia Encyclopedia. Retrieved [date]: you wish to use content from the NGE site for commercial use, publication, or any purpose other than fair use as defined by law, you must request and receive written permission from the NGE. Such requests may be directed to: Permissions/NGE, University of Georgia Press, 330 Research Drive, Athens, GA 30602.
View Original At:

From Collection

DPLA: Include in Digital Public Library of America

Record Contributed By

New Georgia Encyclopedia

Record Harvested From

Digital Library of Georgia