Skip to main content

Board of directors of the encyclopedia of the Negro

@ University of Massachusetts, Amherst


Caption: editors of the Encyclopedia of the Negro in 1931. Left to right: Miss Otelia Cromwell, Monroe N. Work, Charles H. Wesley, Benjamin Brawley, W. E. B. Du Bois, Eugene Kinckle Jones, Alain Locke, Waldo G. Leland. (Center) James Weldon Johnson, Charles T. Loram. (Rear) W.D. Weatherford, A.A. Schomburg, Joel E. Spingarn, Clarence S. Marsh, Anson Phelps Stokes, W.A. Avery, James H. Dillard, Miss Florence Read, Mordecai W. Johnson. Date photo was taken is disputed. According to Shirley Graham Du Bois the photo taken in Washington, D.C., May 16, 1936.
Photographs Gelatin Silver Prints Prints
Fees may apply for reproductionContact host institution for more information.
View Original At:

Record Contributed By

University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Record Harvested From

Digital Commonwealth